Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson
Actuarial Jobs

Visit our site for the most up to date jobs for actuaries.

Actuarial Salary Surveys
Property & Casualty, Health, Life, Pension and Non-Tradtional Jobs.

Actuarial Meeting Schedule
Browse this year's meetings and which recruiters will attend.

Contact DW Simpson
Have a question?
Let's talk.
You'll be glad you did.

Old 11-25-2018, 04:26 PM
CAS SOA

Default Career advice

Hey guys happy thanksgiving weekend!

So I have only 1 exam under my belt and I'm studying for my second exam. Problem is I am not getting interviews for internships(only three) like I had hoped to and I was not offered the position for the two interviews I had.

If I am graduating in December of 2019 then is it even worth it to continue trying to become an actuary?

The market seems SO SATURATED right now especially for internships and EL. When I went in for the two interviews I had most of the students were juniors and had 2 exams while the others were masters students with 3 exams.

I am strongly considering getting a masters in Data Science and just calling it quits on pursuing the actuarial career. Its probably not too late to stop trying to go all in to the actuarial career.
Old 11-25-2018, 05:01 PM
SOA

Keep at it, you still have a few months to land a summer internship and a year to get an entry level job. Competition is fierce, but keep applying... especially to local openings. Keep in mind the interviews are more about being personable and appearing easy to work with than number of exams. There are awkward 4-exam candidates that regularly strike out and there are personable 1-exam candidates that land internships.

If you have nothing by this time next year then you should look to the data science masters as a plan b.

Just my $0.02