Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson
Actuarial Jobs

Visit our site for the most up to date jobs for actuaries.

Actuarial Salary Surveys
Property & Casualty, Health, Life, Pension and Non-Tradtional Jobs.

Actuarial Meeting Schedule
Browse this year's meetings and which recruiters will attend.

Contact DW Simpson
Have a question?
Let's talk.
You'll be glad you did.

Old 11-11-2014, 03:25 AM
CAS SOA

Studying for FAP
College: Alumni
Canada Internship in Toronto

Hi guys,

I apologize if any part of this post is repeating but i looked through tons of post and couldn't find the answers I was looking for.
I have a bachelor in math and physics with 5+ years of experience in tutoring and teaching math and physics in high school. I have been trying to switch careers so I have written/passed exams P, FM, MFE, and C since last summer but have no relevant experience. I have been applying for many jobs online with no luck so I was wondering what I should do to better my chances of getting an entry level job or an internship in Canada. Also I was wondering as a Canadian citizen if I'd have any chance of finding an entry level job or internship in the US.
I'd really appreciate any advice.
Thank you!
Old 11-11-2014, 09:05 AM
SOA

Studying for C
College: State School

Getting a job in the financial department at preferable a bank or insurance company will help the transition. From what i hear Canada has a lot more competition than the U.S. but the chances of getting a work visa for an entry level job will be very hard.
Old 11-12-2014, 11:58 AM
SOA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADarabi View Post
Hi guys,

I apologize if any part of this post is repeating but i looked through tons of post and couldn't find the answers I was looking for.